Customer Field Permissions

The Customer Field Permissions administrative section allows users to define how the fields in customer roles will be displayed to the user. Permissions can be defined based on an order’s status and the user group the current user is in. The following permissions can be defined for each customer role field:

  • Hidden - This is used for the statuses or user groups that you would not like the field displayed for. The field will not be displayed at all to the user.
  • Read-Only - This is generally used for statuses after the quote has been completed, such as Order Placed or Received Order. The field is not editable. Whatever value had been entered for the field will be displayed as uneditable text.
  • Editable - This is generally used for the initial statuses in which the quote is being created, such as Open. The field is displayed in whatever format it was defined in.
  • Required - This is used when user wants to define this field when they create new customers. Fields marked as required are editable and are displayed with a red asterisk. If user has a customer role set as required in the Required Fields by Workflow Action admin section, then the user will be required to define any required fields when that action is performed.

To access the Customer Field Permissions admin section, click the link under the Customers/Customer Roles admin menu. From this screen user can define permissions for each customer role: Bill To, Ship To, and End User. User can switch between each through the tabs at the top of the screen.

customerpermission.jpg

Figure A - Customer Fields - Permissions


Customer role fields are displayed for each customer role. The same fields are used for all customer roles. Click a permission name next to a field to define permissions for that field. This defines that permission for every user group in every order status.
To define specific permissions based on user group and order status, click or (depending on whether or not you have advanced permissions defined already) under the Advanced Permissions column. This displays a matrix of user groups and order statuses.

advancedpermission.jpg

Figure B - Customer Fields - Advances Permissions


To set an option to a cell click the cell to display a pop-up where the option can be selected. You can easily copy permissions from another customer role’s field by choosing that field from the drop down box in the upper right corner of the screen. There are six different types of cells in the matrix that can be defined:

  • All Permissions - Sets the same option for all the cells in the matrix. Click the upper left corner of the matrix to define.
  • All Statuses for One User Group - User can set all the statuses for one user group by clicking the user group’s name on the left side of the matrix.
  • All User Groups for One Order Status - User can set all the user groups for one order status by clicking the status on the top of the matrix.
  • Individual Cell Intersection - User can set a cell intersection between a status and a user group. For instance the Sales Rep group should have the customer role field Read-Only when in the Order Placed status.
  • Default (For New User Groups) - Set how the customer role field will be displayed to the users added to new user groups that haven’t been set in this matrix yet.
  • Default (For New Order Status) - Set how the customer role field will be displayed in a new statuses that haven’t been set in this matrix yet.

The default cells make administration easier so that when user creates a new user group or status user doesn't need to go through and define all the customer role field permissions again. The Default for New User Groups and Default for New Order Status cells is automatically filled with what is set for that field on the previous screen. Changing the permission in this cell will change the permission on the previous screen.

Selecting an option for a cell that includes all statuses or all user groups might take a little bit of time to set depending on the number of statuses and user groups created in the system. Large number of groups or statuses means there are a lot of cells to set, so there might be a slight delay in setting them all.

When finished defining the advanced customer role field permissions, click Save at the bottom of the page. You are not redirected to another page in case you would like to further to define the field.

You are here: CallidusCloud SAP CPQ Online HelpAdmin Page HelpCustomers AdministrationCustomer Field Permissions