Blocking Users from Being Deleted

To prevent users from being deleted:

  1. Go to Setup > Security > Data Deletion.
    A new page displays.
  2. In Blocked Data > Blocked Users, enter either the first name, last name, username or email address of the user you want to block from deletion.
    The field offers autocomplete suggestions as you start typing a search query. Users matching the input are displayed as suggestions. Alternatively, you can select a user from the drop-down list.
  3. Click Save.
    A confirmation message displays.

The blocked user’s status is taken into consideration for SAP CPQ licenses. The user can be either active or inactive, and this status is displayed in the Active column on the Users page. If the blocked user is active, the user counts as a license user. On the other hand, if the blocked user is inactive, the user does not count as a license user.

Restrictions for Blocked Users

When you block a user:

  • The user cannot log into the system.
  • The user details cannot be edited.
    You can only view the details, as the Save button is disabled. The user’s blocked status is displayed in the Active column.
  • The user cannot be deleted manually or via the API.
  • The user cannot be updated via the API.
  • The user’s blocked status is displayed on the Manage Users page, and no action is available.
  • The user can be selected in permission groups.
    When selected, the user’s blocked status is also displayed. If the blocked user is the only selection, the Save button is disabled.
  • The user cannot be set as a guest user.
    When the blocked user is selected as a guest user, a message displays, and the Save button is disabled.
  • The user cannot be set as an approval parent, managing parent or ordering parent.
    When the blocked user is selected as an approval parent, managing parent or ordering parent, a message displays, and the Save button is disabled.
  • The user, who previously granted you or a support representative access to their account, is not displayed due to their blocked status.
    This means you cannot log in as a proxy user when the user is blocked.
  • The user cannot be exported.
  • The user cannot be updated through user import or bulk import.
  • The user cannot be deleted on the Bulk Deletion page.
    The user's blocked status is displayed next to their name.
    Additionally, when selecting a user whose customers you want to delete, the blocked user is not displayed in the list.
  • The user cannot be set as a backup approver.
    When selecting backup approvers, the blocked user does not appear in autocomplete suggestions. However, if the user was selected prior to becoming blocked, the user’s blocked status is displayed, and the Save button is disabled.
  • The user cannot be set as an approver for approval rules.
    When selecting approvers, the blocked user does not appear in the user list. However, if the user was selected prior to becoming blocked, the user’s blocked status is displayed, and the Save button is disabled. Additionally, when a quote is submitted for approval, and one of the designated approvers is blocked, the approver’s blocked status is displayed and a message notifies the user that the approval process might not succeed because of the blocked approver. Moreover, the approver’s blocked status is also displayed in the Approval History.
  • The user cannot be added to email lists.
    When selecting users, the blocked user does not appear in the user list. However, if the user was selected prior to becoming blocked, the user’s blocked status is displayed, and the Save button is disabled. This means that the blocked user does not receive email messages or notifications.
  • The user’s status (active or inactive) remains the same as it was before the user was blocked.
    If the user was inactive before being blocked, the blocked period also counts as inactivity.
  • The user cannot be selected when setting up cart visibility.
  • The user cannot be added to the list of users who can edit multipliers and discounts.
  • The user cannot be selected when setting up market visibility.
  • The user cannot be selected when setting up the total amount limit.
  • The user cannot be selected when setting up a margin health indicator.
  • The user cannot be selected when setting up promotions/special pricing.
  • The user cannot be selected when defining which users have to submit quotes for approval on the Approval Rules page.
  • The user cannot be selected when setting up user mappings for CRM integrations.

When you unblock a user:

  • The user’s status (active or inactive) remains the same as it was before the user was blocked.
  • The user will get deleted if the deletion criteria is met based on the inactivity period or last login time.
You are here: SAP Sales Cloud CPQ Online HelpAdmin Page HelpSecurityAutomatic Deletion of DataBlocked DataBlocking Users from Being Deleted